Visa warning for Brits travelling in Europe – including France, Spain and Italy

Brits wanting to go on holiday in a number of European countries such as France, Spain, Greece and Italy will need a new form of visa waiver very soon.

The scheme – known as the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) – will cost Brits £6 each when they travel into the EU.

Travellers under 18 or over 80 will not need to pay for the pass nor will an EU citizens, however most British holidaymakers will require one or may be sent home at the border. The roll out of the documents has been pushed back a number of times having been scheduled to come out years ago, reports WalesOnline.

READ MORE: UK tourists and 58 other nationalities will need to pay for new pass to enter EU

Check out our travel section for more holidays, travel news, hacks, flight secrets and more…

However, a new timeline has been released which claims that the new passes will be required very soon. As well as entry into holiday destinations like Greece, Spain, Italy and France the document will be needed for entry into every EU country.

Europe's Schengen Council has this week endorsed the new timeline for the roll-out of IT systems used by EU states to fight crime, control borders and manage migration flows. The IT systems need to be put in place before ETIAS can begin, reports SchengenVisaInfo.

A new entry and exit system will replace the manual passport stamping at the border with an electronic registration and travel authorisation system. It will be used for any visa-exempt third-country nationals which includes the UK.

The new roadmap for the delivery of the new IT architecture foresees that the Entry/Exit system will be ready to enter into operation in Autumn 2024 and that ETIAS will be ready to enter into operation in Spring 2025.

Meaning that if you’re planning on heading on holiday from Spring 2025 you’ll need to fill in the ETIAS form before flying, driving or getting the ferry – and pay the £6 fee. The pass will then last for three years or until your passport expires.

European Union officials said: "ETIAS travel authorisation is an entry requirement for visa-exempt nationals travelling to any of 30 European countries.

"It is linked to a traveller's passport. It is valid for up to three years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first. If you get a new passport, you need to get a new ETIAS travel authorisation.

"With a valid ETIAS travel authorisation, you can enter the territory of these European countries as often as you want for short-term stays – normally for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

"However, it does not guarantee entry. When you arrive, a border guard will ask to see your passport and other documents and verify that you meet the entry conditions."

58 nationalities will need to get the permit alongside us Brits – including Albania, Australia, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Samoa, Tonga, Singapore, South Korea and the United states.

Countries requiring an ETIAS from tourists to enter:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Source: Read Full Article