StubHub to refund over $3 million to more than 8,000 Colorado customers.

StubHub will refund more than $3 million to over 8,500 Colorado customers who purchased tickets under the company’s pre-pandemic refund policy for events that were canceled because of COVID-19.

StubHub, one of the largest ticket exchange and resale companies in the country, initially refused to pay refunds to consumers for concerts, sports and other events that were canceled by the pandemic, according to a news release from the Colorado Attorney General’s Office.

Colorado and nine other states, as well as the District of Columbia, announced the settlement Tuesday.

“The pandemic impacted all Coloradans, many of whom were looking forward to events and experiences that were canceled as we all worked to keep each other safe and healthy,” Attorney General Phil Weiser said in the release. “Consumers should not be out of their money when a service they paid for was never provided. My office is committed to protecting consumers, and we will continue to take action to ensure that consumers, like those of Stubhub, receive the refunds they are owed.”

The settlement ensures refunds of $3,120,442 to 8,688 Colorado consumers.

“Under its ‘FanProtect Guarantee,’ StubHub typically offered consumers full refunds of the purchase price and fees they paid for tickets if their events were canceled,” the release said. “In March 2020, however, following the mass-cancellation of entertainment events, StubHub stopped honoring its refund guarantee and instead told its customers that they would receive account credits equal to 120% of their purchases to be used for future events and denied their requests for refunds.”

StubHub ultimately reversed its decision in May 2021 after coordinated multi-state investigations were underway, the release said.

Colorado consumers who believe they’re entitled to a refund and who have not been contacted by StubHub can call the ticket broker at 866-788-2482, or call the state AG’s office at 800-222-4444.

Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Minnesota, New Hampshire, Ohio, Virginia, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia joined Colorado in the settlement.

Source: Read Full Article