Royal titles that will change following Queen Elizabeth II’s tragic death

Queen Elizabeth II has tragically passed away following a health battle that saw her relatives rush to Balmoral to be by her side.

Throughout her incredible 70-year reign, Her Majesty has ruled over the UK and the Commonwealth, ushering in 15 Prime Ministers and meeting with dozens of impressive world leaders over the course of her time on the throne.

The Monarch, who died at 96, also welcomed four children, eight grandchildren and 12 great-grandchildren – and her extensive family will be given a shake-up as established royal titles are redistributed following her devastating death.

READ MORE: Queen dies aged 96: How historic day unfolded as UK bid farewell to Her Majesty

Prince Charles has now become King, prompting a shift in the roles of many senior royals, with the new line-up having first been displayed several years ago alongside Her Majesty at a reception for the heroes of the pandemic at Windsor Castle, MyLondon previously reported.

His wife Camilla has taken on the title of Queen Consort.

Another notable title change is that of Prince William, who is set to become the 27th Prince of Wales, the Duke of Cornwall and the Earl of Chester.

And his roster of roles doesn't stop there as he will also inherit the titles of Duke of Rothesay, Earl of Carrick, Baron of Renfrew, Lord of the Isles and Prince and Great Steward of Scotland.

  • Bank of England confirms exactly what will happen to money with Queen's portrait on

Meanwhile, Kate Middleton will have a title change of her own.

Kate, who has been known as the Duchess of Cambridge is set to become the Princess of Wales, the Duchess of Cornwall and the Countess of Chester, as well as gaining all the female counterparts to William's other titles.

Although their children are not yet considered senior royals, the youngsters will have title changes of their own, becoming Prince George, Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis of Cornwall and Cambridge.

These titles will last until their father has his official Prince of Wales ceremony, expected to take place at Caernarfon Castle, at which point they will be known as Prince George, Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis of Wales until they either marry or their father becomes king.

To stay up to date with all the latest news, make sure you sign up to one of our newsletters here.

Other senior royals will also see a huge change in their titles, including Prince Edward and his wife, Sophie, the Earl and Countess of Wessex.

With his brother set to sit on the throne, Edward will become the Duke of Edinburgh, and Sophie the Duchess.

But not everyone is getting a new title – Princess Anne, known as the Princess Royal, will keep her title for life.

To get more stories from Daily Star delivered straight to your inbox sign up to one of our free newsletters here.

The title is typically given to the eldest daughter of the monarch and remains even after their parent has died.

The next Princess Royal will likely be Princess Charlotte, but only once Princess Anne has died and Prince William comes to the throne.


  • Prince Harry and Meghan Markle's children Archie and Lilibet are now prince and princess

  • Vladimir Putin sends condolences to King Charles 'in face of irreparable loss'

  • Queen Elizabeth II 'represented all that is great' and 'shone a beacon of wisdom'

  • Prince Charles
  • Prince George
  • Prince Philip
  • Prince William
  • Princess Charlotte
  • Queen
  • Family

Source: Read Full Article